## Biscovey Academy Local Academy Advisory Groups and the Local Academy Board

## **Introduction**

Here at Biscovey Academy, our Local Academy Advisory Groups (LAAGs) and Local Academy Board (LAB) play a key role in driving forward school improvement, forging and maintaining community links and supporting our pupils in accessing an outstanding education.

As well as providing the School, and the wider Trust, with valuable local intelligence, additional resources and energy; the LAAGs and LAB help make and challenge decisions to ensure our academy is working to its full potential.

#### The Scope of Biscovey Academy LAAGs

At Biscovey Academy we have formed two LAAGs, which will work with the school (and the wider Trust) to provide advice and guidance on the following key delegated areas:

- Finance, Staffing and Site Management
- Curriculum, Well-being and Safeguarding

Each of the above LAAGs has its own Terms of Reference which provide specific details about the functions and delegated responsibilities of each Group. The LAAGs meet termly, unless otherwise required.

## Membership of Biscovey Academy LAAGs

Each LAAG is made up of:

- Staff Advisors (teaching and support) who are elected by the school staff. The Head
  of School and Assistant Head of School are also Advisors;
- Parent Advisors;
- Community Advisors (members of the community who are appointed as Advisors by the LAAG).

#### Our LAAGs currently consist of:

	Mark Corbett (Head of School) – Staff Advisor
Finance, Staffing	Rob Wallbank (Assistant Head of School) – Staff Advisor
and Site	Paddy Gribbin - Parent Advisor
Management	Georgina Speake – Parent Advisor
	Lucy Wright – Community Advisor
	Al Golley – Community Advisor
	Annie Stuart (Chair) – Community Advisor and Hub Councillor
Curriculum, Well-	Mark Corbett (Head of School) – Staff Advisor
being and	Rob Wallbank (Assistant Head of School) – Staff Advisor
Safeguarding	Nikki Black – Staff Advisor
	Jon Mayman – Staff Advisor
	Lianne Ward – Parent Advisor
	Melanie Maskell -Parent Advisor
	Laura Mooney – Parent Advisor
	Ryan Tate – Parent Advisor

#### The Local Academy Board

The Local Academy Board (LAB) is made up of the Chairperson from each of the LAAGs, (who are also Hub Councillors) and the Head of School. The LAB meets once a term, following the LAAG meetings.

The purpose of the LAB is threefold:

- 1) To consider the minutes of each of the individual LAAGs and review the scope of their individual functions and delegated responsibilities. They are in a position to respond to and appropriately challenge matters arising from those minutes where necessary.
- 2) To review and provide an appropriate challenge on the outcomes from termly "Monitoring Visits" which support the continuous drive for improvement within the Academy.
- 3) To discuss agendas and prepare for forthcoming Hub Council Meetings.

### **Hub Councillors**

Hub Councillors, together with the Head of School, sit on the Hub Council and report termly to the full Aspire Academy Trust Board through an elected Chair. As members of both LAAGs and the LAB within their own Schools, the Hub Councillors know their academies well and hold the leadership teams to account against ambitious termly and annual targets and learning goals that each Hub agrees. They will also address issues such as local level parental complaints, staff appointments and finance.

The termly reports that are made to Hub Councils are based primarily on information obtained from the termly Hub Monitoring Visits made to each school, but also on the content of the termly LAAG/LAB meetings.

The LAAGs are key training and recruitment grounds for future Hub Councillors.

#### **Special Responsibilities**

Members of the LAAGs may have additional special responsibilities which involve overseeing a particular area of school life or curriculum area. They may arrange additional school visits, or meetings with subject co-ordinators to assist them in their performance of these special responsibilities.

Current special responsibilities include:

Responsibility	Advisor	Staff Liaison
School Improvement and Development	Annie Stuart	Mark Corbett
		Rob Wallbank
Confidentiality	Lucy Wright	Mark Corbett
Disciplinary and Grievance Procedures	Lucy Wright	Mark Corbett
Appeals Procedures	Paddy Gribbin	Mark Corbett
	Lucy Wright	
Whistleblowing	Annie Stuart	Mark Corbett
Site Management	Al Golley	Mark Corbett
-		Rob Wallbank

Health and Well-being	Annie Stuart	Chris Jewell
		Rob Wallbank
Safeguarding	Annie Stuart	Rob Wallbank
Support for Families	Annie Stuart	Alison Gill
Special Educational Needs	Annie Stuart	Gemma Wilson
Pupil Well-Being and Behaviour for Learning	Annie Stuart	Mark Corbett
		Amanda Lobb
Vulnerable Groups (including Pupil Premium)	Annie Stuart	Jo Hilton
		Gemma Wilson
Gifted and Talented	Lianne Ward	Jon Mayman
English	Lianne Ward	Rhonda Nile
Maths	Lucy Wright	Sarah Walters
Science	Lianne Ward	Emma Watkins
Computing	Nikki Black	Chris Jewell
PE	Paddy Gribbin	Andrew Butler
Creative Curriculum	Lucy Wright	Subject Leaders
ITT and NQT	Annie Stuart	Chris Jewell

# Annual Calendar of Events Involving Advisors and Hub Councillors

	Ţ
	LAAG Meetings
Autumn Term 1	•
	Autumn Hub Monitoring Visit
	<b>\</b>
Autumn Term 2	LAB Meeting
	Autumn Hub Council Mooting
	Autumn Hub Council Meeting
Spring Term 1	LAAG Meetings
Spirity retiff i	LAAO Meenings
	Spring Hub Monitoring Visit
	<b>↓</b>
Spring Term 2	LAB Meeting
	<b>↓</b>
	Spring Hub Council Meeting
Summer Term 1	LAAG Meetings
	Company on the least of the single Visit
	Summer Hub Monitoring Visit
Summer Term 2	LAB Meeting
	LAD Meening
	Summer Hub Council Meeting
	Summer Hub Council Meeting